2015 Nigerian Sports Award: Nomination Thrills Oguchi

//2015 Nigerian Sports Award: Nomination Thrills Oguchi

2015 Nigerian Sports Award: Nomination Thrills Oguchi

Having been nominated in two categories of this year’s prestigious Nigerian Sports Award, 2015 Afrobasket Most Valuable Player (MVP), Chamberlain Oguchi believes his consideration for the award has indeed humbled him.

Oguchi, who plies his trade with Anwil Basketball Club in the Tauron Basketball League of Poland, said his nomination showed that Nigerians really appreciate D’Tiger’s efforts to bring honours to Nigeria at the 2015 Afrobasket Championship.

“I am honoured and humbled to be nominated for Ball Sportsman of the Year and Sportsman of the Year. It would mean the world to win these awards. I want to thank the Nigerian publics for recognizing me, and I hope to wear these awards proudly in representation of the 170 million plus Nigerian inhabitants as well as Nigerians across the world,” he said.

He also lauded the organizers of the Nigerian Sports Award for the initiative to recognize and reward athletes that have done Nigeria proud across the globe.

Oguchi and 2014 ITTF Star Player, Aruna Quadri are both nominated for the Ball Sports Award and the Sportsman of the Year award while Oguchi will also be competing against his teammate, Olumide Oyedeji in the Ball Sports category alongside Quadri.

The Coach of the National Men’s Basketball team, William Voight will be competing with Are Feyisetan, Nigerian Powerlifting Coach and the Women Cycling Coach, Bashir Mohammed for the Coach of the Year category.

Nigerian Wrestler, Boltic Sinivie, tackles Efe Ajagba (Boxer) and Henry Hendrix (Kungfu) are the top three nominees for the  Combat Sport Person of the Year while Awoniyi Taiwo (Footballer), Kelechi Nwanaga (Javeline), Amusan Tobiloba (Hurdles) topnominations for the Discovery of the Year category.

In the Football category, Asisat Oshoala, Desire Oparanozie and Ngozi Okobiare contesting for the Footballer of the Year (Women) category while OdionIghalo, Ahmed Musa and the top scorer, in the ongoing 2015 professional football league, Tunji Adeniji are the top nominees for the Footballer of the Year (Men).

World record breakers at the just concluded African Games, YakubuAdesokan, Loveline Obiji, will slug it out with Lovina Onyegbule for the Special Sport Person of the Year while the President of the Nigerian Wrestling Federation, Daniel Igali battles Director General of the National Sports Commission, Yakmut Alhassan for the Sports Administrators of the Year category.
Weightlifter, Balqis Otunla tackles Loveline Obiji and Lovina Onyegbule for the Sports Woman of the Year award while Yakubu Adesokan, Chamberlain Oguchi and ArunaQuadri are the top three nominees for the Sports Man of the Year.

For the School Sports Award, Eyeanugie Primary School, Edo state, winners of the Channels kid cup award, 2015, Rochas Okorocha Foundation College, winners of Shell cup 2015 battles the former winner of the category, Greensprings College for the award.

The Nigerian Men Basketball Award team, D’Tigers, the Women Cycling Team and Beach Volleyball team are the three top nominees for the Team of the Year category.

Kelechi Nwanaga (Javelin), Uke Claire (Discuss), Tosin Oke (Triple Jump) a gold medalist at the just concluded All African Games are the top three contenders for the Track and Field Star of the year while Mariam Usman battles Balqis Otunla for the weightlifter of the Year award.

The public voting for Sportsman and Sportswoman which commenced on Wednesday 7th of October 2015 and will close on Sunday 15th November 2015. Members of the public are expected to send SMS SMOTY for Sportsman of the Year or SWOTY for Sportswoman of the Year and the name of the athlete to 33140 or nominate through twitter using the hashtag #SWOTY or #SMOTY and the name of choice winner to @ngrsportsaward.

The 2015 Nigerian Sports Award event is schedule to hold on Friday, November 20, 2015 at the Marquee, Oceanview, Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

By | 2018-10-11T08:17:21+00:00 October 29th, 2015|Press|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment